I am always trying to make sure I keep up on the laws when it comes to the child safety seat laws in California. I want to make sure my children are not only safe, but that I am abiding by the laws too. I know I am safe when it comes to my teenagers, but I wanted to make everyone aware of the laws in California when it comes down to the little ones.
Last year they had changed the laws which required my 8 year old to sit in a booster seat. She wasn’t so happy, but the law is the law!
Here are the laws you must abide by:
- Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or a booster in the back seat of the vehicle.
- Children that are under the age of 8 that are 4′ 9″ or taller may be secured by a safety belt in the back seat.
- Children that are 8 years & over can be properly secured in an appropriate child passenger restraint system or safety belt.
- Passengers in the vehicle that are 16 years of age and over are subject to California’s Mandatory Seat Belt law.
Being in a car seat isn’t always fun for kids. You can make it a little more fun by getting a cute car seat for them. I just LOVE this Dale Earnhardt car seat for boys.
My son is now in a booster, but I would have loved to have one of these for him. I asked my son if he liked this car seat and he said YES. I might just have to get one of these for him since he loves having cupholders on his car seat to hold his little things he likes to bring.
I have seen some pretty CUTE car seats online for girls too!